Board of Directors

John Preston: President and Chair of Recordings

John F. Preston, President and Board Member of TVIW, Inc., is serving on the TVIW2017 OrgCom as the Chief Videographer for the upcoming Symposium. He has been involved in recording all four previous symposia, since the first one in 2011 in Oak Ridge. He has also completed the videography for the TVIW “From Here to the Stars,” video casts. Links to all of these videos may be found at or the TVIW YouTube Channel.

He retired after 35 years as an engineer at the Oak Ridge Gaseous Diffusion Plant (also known as the K-25 site) in 2012 having worked for numerous companies, including Prime Contractors, Union Carbide Nuclear Division, Lockheed Martin, Bechtel Jacobs, and finally UCOR. He had a first-hand experience with the NASA Space Program working as a Materials Engineer at McDonnell Douglas Astronautics Co – Eastern Division in St. Louis on the development of lightweight ceramic fiber tiles for the Space Shuttle. He received his degree in Ceramic Engineering from Georgia Tech in 1968.

Martha Knowles: Secretary/Treasurer and Chair of Scholarship Program

knowlesMartha Knowles, our Secretary/Treasurer, was a professional librarian and records management specialist. She was administrator and Registrar for the first four TVIW symposia (2011, 2013, 2014, 2016) and will be very involved in TVIW 5 in 2017.

In another time and place, she is active in the Society for Creative Anachronism, as well as several local science fiction conventions (such as LibertyCon in Chattanooga, TN).  She lives in Oak Ridge, TN, with her husband and two cats.

David Fields, Ph.D. – Director, TVIW

fieldsDavid Fields (Ph.D., Physics, Univ. of Wisconsin) has rejoined the TVIW Board after a brief hiatus. He is the Director of the Tamke-Allan Observatory, the ORION founder/president and Senior Researcher at I4IS. He presented at the 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2016 TVIW Symposia. In addition to a research career at ORNL, he has had visiting scientist appointments in Germany and Brazil, served as an IAEA “technical expert”, and was a Consulting Physicist at ISSI for NASA. In addition to being a past president of the Tennessee Academy of Science, he has taught at UW, RSCC, PSTCC, and UFMG. He holds two U.S. patents and his current interest is in RASDR, a computer-interfaced radio astronomy instrument. He lives in Knox County, TN.

Ken Roy: Director at Large

prestoneKenneth Roy is an engineer living and working amidst the relics of the Manhattan Project in Oak Ridge, Tennessee.  He invented the “Shell Worlds,” concept.  In 1997, he made the cover of the prestigious Proceeding of the U.S. Naval Institute for his forecast of anti-ship, space-based, kinetic energy weapons.  

With his co-authors R.G. Kennedy and D.E. Fields, has appeared multiple times in JBIS and Acta Astronautica with papers on terraforming and space colonization.  He is a graduate of the Illinois Institute of Technology and the University of Tennessee at Knoxville in engineering.  He enjoys reading science fiction and books on terraforming.

Edward “Sandy” Montgomery: Director at Large

Edward “Sandy” Montgomery has also rejoined the Board of TVIW after a brief hiatus. He has over 35 years commercial and civil service in the Huntsville aerospace community. He retired from civil service in 2015 and is now consulting on NASA’s Near Earth Asteroid Scout solar sail mission and the James Webb Space Telescope, both planned for 2018 launch.

He gave a talk at TVIW 2014 titled “Solar Power Pipeline for Interstellar Travel”. He has a Bachelor in Aerospace Engineering from Auburn University and a Masters of Engineering from University of Alabama in Huntsville. He is married with three adult sons and lives in Lacey’s Spring, near Huntsville, AL.